Final Fantasy Games Ranked Worst To Best: 21–11

Pixel Parables
9 min readJun 12, 2023

Update 2: Final Fantasy VII Rebirth has been added to the list so the rankings have been updated here.

Updated: Updated the rankings as part 2 of this article have been updated with Final Fantasy XVIs position.

This is going to be my personal choice of the core Final Fantasy games including the sequels that I have played. If you have a different list order to me then by all means please share it in the comments below. I have played Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings and Dirge of Cerberus however I didn’t get far into the first one and despite finishing the latter it was when I was a teenager so I don’t remember anything about it. I do remember not enjoying it at all however and haven’t replayed it so they aren’t included in this list. I have a similar issue with Final Fantasy Tactics. I never finished that game but I do love the game and I guess it’s more of a spin-off title like Stranger of Paradise, World of Final Fantasy and the Theatrhythm series as a result none of those are included in this list. I also never played Final Fantasy XI and so I can’t rank it based on other people’s perceptions. The last thing I will say is, I still ultimately enjoy all these games even if I think some are better than others. Now that the caveats are out of the way, I hope you enjoy my list.

21: Final Fantasy V

Final Fantasy 5 Front Cover
Image from Steam

--

--